Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned

Always Outnumbered Never Outgunned
Date / Time: Saturday, July 9th, 2011
Location: Clayton, NC
Number of participants: 6 (2 vs 4)

Our weapons cache lay, piled up on the front porch. “Choose whatever you want” I said. I always let my enemies have first pick if they haven’t brought their own weapons. It means that they have less things to complain about after they’ve lost. As my enemies thumbed through my guns, testing out all viable options, I had other business to take care of. “We are going to need all the ammo we can get,” I said to Kirk “We are going to constantly be on the run, so I’m going to hide these 2 Gatorade bottles and this pitcher in the rocks under the tree fort.”

The other team had made their picks by the time I returned to the front yard. XP 70, XP 150, WW Explorer, and XP 75 duel welded with an XP 65. I grabbed my Monster XL, an easy choice, “double the targets, double the firepower.” We filled up and started to head to the back yard. “What are the rules?” someone asked. I turned around and blasted him with a 4.5x shot. “Soak, or be soaked!”

We ran into the backyard and tried to take cover behind the large white oaks and crepe myrtles at the edge of the yard. It also happened to be the highest point in the back yard. I’m a firm believer in holding the high ground. They weren’t fooled. They spread out. When you have 2 to 1 odds, you’d be foolish not to attack from all sides.

The two on my left were slower, and had to run further to flank us. I blasted away, tap shots on 4.5x, and we hit the 2 on the right before the other group could engage us. Just as the 2 on the left got in range we bolted, running down hill. Kirk and I were doing well. We were hitting them more than they were hitting us, and one or two of them were almost completely drenched.

I jumped up on the picnic table, hoping my mom or grandma or whoever had the camera on the deck could get a good picture of our valiant stand. That’s how you get the picture to the right. Well, it wasn’t such a good idea, as far as combat strategy is concerned. You never want to be pinned down anywhere. Always be mobile, always be on your feet. Especially when outnumbered. They swarmed in from all sides, and though Kirk stayed nimble behind me with his 600, I was a big target on top of the picnic table. It did give me a range advantage, initially, but using numbers they easily cleared the gap. I switched to double 11.5x and completely hosed everyone around me.

If they weren’t entirely drenched before, they were now. It cleared a gap for Kirk and I, and we broke out of their trap.  The MXL was a force to be reckoned with, but we were constantly running for our lives and it took me forever to refil. I decided to switch over to my 110.

It was at this point that my sister decided to stop playing. Opting, instead, to get her professional camera and practice taking action shots. Thanks to her, we ended up with a lot of good pictures. At this time I switched to my new XP 110. The MXL was a beast, but it’s range wasn’t good enough to make up for how bulky it was. Kirk switched to the XP 70 because his SC 600 pump had jammed.

I came back out to find my opponents not paying much attention. They were chilling out, thinking I was still inside. I decided to announce my presence by launching a surprise attack. “AHHHHAAHAHA!!” I laughed maniacally, charging towards Drew and my dad who were hanging out by our boat.

Drew had been killing us in the previous engagement. He was a track athelete at Steven’s College in New Jersey. Now that we had better odds, and now that I was more mobile, we decided to isolate him from the group. His one flaw was that he’d get too far from the rest of his team, and we were about to exploit it.

Our plan was executed flawlessly. By the time his teammates reinforced him he was drenched, exhausted, and low on water. Then we were able to pick the other 2 apart as they were less skilled and less athletic. This happened repeatedly and they never did come up with a good counter.

My dad kept yelling that they were winning, as they had “forced us from the field of battle.” Everyone was laughing at this, because it was pretty obvious that they were getting the worse end of things.

I learned a lot from this battle:

1) Endurance is the most valuable physical asset to have during an intense engagement. This is even more true when you are outnumbered.
2) Range and mobility are imperitive to success even in soakfests. My MXL unquestionably caused the most damage during the engagement, but it was at great cost. The WW Explorer was a better option because it could keep range with the MXL (38-39 ft) and yet was more mobile.
3) Stick together, but isolate your enemies. It’s a lot more difficult than it seems.
4) Hide refill bottles before the match, then escape when you can, and refill.
5) 4 vs 2 is more difficult than 2 vs 1.

Leave a Reply

